Badminton News

Hiro Yamamoto 2017

Badminton News

Sunday the 5th of November saw our yearly Hiro Yamamoto Badminton Tournament at WRFC with 54 members competing across the grades in this popular, handicapped doubles event.

Events kicked off at 9.30am with 21 pairs of Men and 6 pairs of ladies competing for the respective titles.  With a total number of 70 matches being played, this was a busy day of badminton for all, with many intense and exciting battles being fought on court throughout the day.


Last year’s defending champions, Dan Tang and Gulam Robbani, won the men’s event again this year, after battling their way through a tough one-set semi-final against Deric Gonsalves and Ram Kanathezhath, winning just 24/22 to secure their place in the final.  In the final Dan and Gulam met Jamie Jessup and Yan Lap Cheung, who had a great day, winning their group and defeating A-pair Mike Cooper and Garry Mill 22/20 in another very close semi-final.


The Men’s final proved yet another excitingly close match, with Dan Tang and Gulam Robbani winning the first set 21/16 but losing the second 19/21, so defeating Jamie and Yan by just a few important points.


The Ladies event was won by Anna Kondratieva and Xiaoling Niu, who progressed undefeated through the group round, not dropping a single set, before defeating Venus McClennan and Puneet Bajeva 21/17 in the semi-finals.  In the final they met Kim Lim and Krithica Mahesh, who put up a good fight but lost 21/11, 21/5, leaving Anna and Xiaoling to celebrate a comfortable victory.


All in all a fabulous day of badminton played in good spirits and with plenty of excitement!


Prizes for the winners and runners-up included Club Credit Vouchers for the WRFC Bar and Cafe. The winners will have their names engraved on the Hiro Yamamoto Trophies as well as on the wall display at the club.


Thank you to everyone who took part in this event and helped making it a great success!

Many thanks also to the organisers of the event, Joyce, Helle and Christine!!

Ladies Final Score

Mens Grp A B

Mens Grp C D