ABOUT THE CLUB

  • WRFC Ltd is owned by its members
  • Not for profit, all revenues are invested back into the club for the benefit of all members
  • Operated by a combination of paid staff & member committees
  • Registered as a CASC (Community Amateur Sports Club)
  • Prides itself on being the hub for racquet sports in the local community
  • Partners many local community groups, schools and businesses

Wimbledon Squash & Badminton Club History

The Club has a rich history spanning back many decades, and has formed close bonds with the local community in this time.

Built on its current site in 1936, the doors were officially opened on Tuesday 26th January 1937 by Lord Ebbisham, with an opening ceremony and exhibition matches in both squash and badminton.

In August 1995 the new gymnasium, dance studio, reception area and shop were added to the Club to extend and improve its facilities considerably.

In December 2000 the Club refurbished the changing rooms adding saunas and the new fitness centre.

At this time the Club also re-branded, and changed its name to Wimbledon Racquets and Fitness Club.

Further modernisation to the members bar and lounge areas were completed in 2003, and in 2014 further refurbishment work was carried out to improve the gym and social areas, and to make the club what it is today.

We offer a friendly and inviting atmosphere with excellent facilities, and have been recognised as a Performance Center by Badminton England.

 

 

Memorandum Articles of Association Post AGM 2016